Archive for May 16th, 2010

Barcelona demonstrated their sheer class once again and easily cruised to victory sealing their 2nd straight La Liga Championship.

Their counterparts had a much harder time with their opponent as Malaga gave Real Madrid a rude awakening taking an early 1-0 lead. It took Madrid a while to find a equalizer but Rafael Van der Vaart turned beautifully and swept the ball into the bottom corner to tie the match in the 48th minute. Malaga fighting for their La Liga lives held off Madrid’s attack and took a point from the match; a point that will end up saving them from relegation.

Barcelona made sure that Real Valladolid were relegated as they took their hearts out, stomped on it then proceeded to set it on fire. Messi added two goals to his final tally of the season and his team cruised to a 4-0 victory and 2nd straight La Liga crown.


Read Full Post »

For the 5th year in a row Inter Milan are Serie A champions. Diego Milito sealed the championship with a 57th minute goal to give the Nerazzurri a 1-0 victory over relegated Siena.

This title gives Inter Milan a total of 18 Serie A championships.

Was this Jose Mourinho’s final Serie A match? Likely. See you in Madrid (and I’m not just talking about the Champions League Final).

Read Full Post »